top of page
  • Brendan Howe

Paella to Waffles



“I really trust in the process,” he said. “If not, I would leave.”


A few months ago, Slippery Rock University’s Alejandro Fernandez, named in November as an All-PSAC West honoree, probably couldn’t have even expressed that sentiment in a language that is getting less foreign to him every day.


Fernandez, a native of Alca de Henares, Madrid, ended up in Slippery Rock, a trip over 3,800 miles, through a company that helps to moderate the recruiting process for European athletes to traverse the Atlantic to go to school in the U.S.


“Coach emailed me that he was interested in me [and] we were talking for month [about] the scholarship I would get and how is everything here,” said Fernandez, studying with a focus in industrial engineering. “I just decided coming here, with the major I want to study, they had it, so I just came here.”


As a part of club teams in Spain, Fernandez saw competition such as the top-tier prep teams for La Liga powerhouses Real Madrid and Atletico Madrid.


A 6’1” freshman midfielder, Fernandez tallied 12 points this season, proving to be a significant part in Wilhelm’s attack. In the Rock’s 7-0 battering of Shepherd early in the schedule, Fernandez netted two goals. In October, he tallied a marker in three straight contests. All said, Fernandez finished second in scoring for the Green and White.


“The thing is, if I score and I help to the team, that’s fine,” Fernandez said. “I don’t really care about being the top second scorer on the team. But, if that helps to win and make us a better team, that makes me proud.”

At home, Fernandez normally only played on the weekends. The biggest thing Fernandez had to get used to on the pitch in Western Pennsylvania was allotting his energy throughout the week.


“Playing Wednesday and Saturday, that never happens in Spain,” Fernandez said. “We have to practice every day and play twice a week, [so] physically, you have to be prepared, but, at the same time, you can’t waste too much energy in practice.”


Off the field, Fernandez’ challenge was learning a language that, before coming to Slippery Rock, he barely ever had to speak.


“I thought I would be able to talk with the guys and have conversation, but no, it wasn’t like that,” Fernandez said. “It took me probably two months to start feeling comfy to talk with anybody.”


His teammates were the biggest help with this, illustrated by Fernandez’ willingness to turn to fellow midfielder Ale Okuma for confirmation that he was using the right expressions while being interviewed.


“I’m really close with everybody,” Fernandez said of his teammates. “We can say we’re a family, we’re like a brotherhood. I think that’s what made this season go that well.”


Of Coach Wilhelm, Fernandez said, “He has been helping me in everything I need. He’s made me feel comfy here since the first day and I’m really thankful for that.”


Fernandez also took a liking to a certain everyday breakfast staple, pouring a thick, tan batter into a press at Boozel on a regular basis.


“I would say, it’s going to sound weird, but the waffles, I’ve never tried them in Spain,” said Fernandez, who added that he tops the food with lots of chocolate chips and whipped cream. “I think they are pretty good. They’re just a basic food.”


Aside from his family—he has two sisters, one of which is studying in London—and friends, food is what Fernandez misses most about Spain. He’s not terribly homesick, but he misses his mom’s meals, paella to be specific.


“The food is a really important thing that I miss,” Fernandez said. “But, my goal next year is to learn how to cook so that will disappear.”


Fernandez makes a point to watch each Real Madrid fixture, keeping a close eye on his biggest inspiration, striker Karim Benzema.


Fernandez has one goal that stands above the rest.


“I came here with a goal to lead the team and to make this team the greatest of the PSAC,” Fernandez said. “I will come back to Spain after the four years so frustrated if I don’t win the PSAC.”












296 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page